Through the Alps

Today we depart from Romanshorn. The weather is much better than it was yesterday. According to the satnav the drive to Lenno is about four hours. Approaching the Alps it is sunny but quite cool. The thermometer shows 9.5 degrees before we enter the San Bernardino tunnel.

Just before we enter the tunnel my companion notices a classic car. She does not mention it to me as the road is quite tortuous. Actually I had spotted it myself, but was unable to identify the type of car.

Shortly after we emerge from the tunnel I decide to stop for petrol. The temperature has jumped 10 degrees compared with the North side of the Alps. In the car park of the service area we see the same car we had seen taking the pass rather than the tunnel. On close inspection I see it is a Mercedes.

The car is absolutely immaculate, show room condition, I am not sure to when it would date, by the style I would guess mid fifties. It must have been a spectacular car then, and it certainly is now. It is a bit of a relief to leave German behind and to arrive in an area (Ticino) where they speak a language I understand. After a coffee and refuelling stop for the car we arrive at the apartment in the late afternoon. Temperature in Lenno is about 23 degrees.

As I write I can hear the resident ferret, not sure where it is, hope it comes to say hello.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.