theclairebear

By theclairebear

The secret garden

Sometimes you need something to jolt you out of your routine in order for you to look around.

Tube strikes are much maligned, but I quite like having my daily grind disrupted and having to find alternative ways to carry on. Today I took a bus to work, that dropped me by The Dorchester on Park Lane. A day earlier, I had taken this same journey and walked along Mount Street and into the office. Today, when crossing the road, I went straight out of the subway passage rather than turning right as I did the day before. This took me towards a lovely church, which I thought I might take a photo of to blip.

As I took the photo, I noticed gates, just past the church. I carried on that way, and found myself in Mount Street Gardens. A little garden between two lines of buildings that was a shadowy and calm strip of grass, 50 metres from my office. I've been working there for 18 months and had no idea that this garden was there.

I wanted to tell people at my work, but then decided to keep it as my secret. My secret garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.