FirehorseMia

By FirehorseMia

Walkies

Walkies

This should not be such a Blipable moment, walking the dog, but it is the first time since last August that I have had the energy to do so.
I feel very bad for Troy, he has been very long suffering. The latest lot of floods post-quake have left him with a skin infection from the sewer backwash that flows through my property every time it rains.
This is my second lot of "stress leave" since August. The fourth lot of stress leave since the earthquakes. I've cut back my hours at work as well owing to stress and taken a hit financially for that. A combination of dealing with the Earthquake Commission(EQC) and crap at work has meant that I'm forever trying to claw back my holiday leave and being forever in "time debt" at work.
After appearing on a national news programme called Campbell Live, I finally received my payment from EQC and now I'm in the hands of my insurer. It took EQC two and a half years to pay me out, despite my getting an advocate.
It seems the only way to get action: is to go to the media and shame EQC into action. If only every suffering resident of Christchurch was able to do this...
At least the EQC money has paid off my mortgage for now and I can use the rest to earn some much needed dosh in a term deposit.
The next thing will be to convince the insurance company that my place is a total rebuild and not a repair. I am expecting to wait months, if not years for that to be sorted out...
I have lots of back-Blips, too many miserable ones to actually post. Maybe I'll do some while I'm on fucking stress leave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.