"Godparents"

This evening I was late picking Miles up from daycare, due to having to wait for a tram home. I really miss the freedom of my bike when I can't ride it - the freedom and relative predictability in terms of journey time can't be beaten. I know within about 5 mins how long it will take me to get home once I turn my computer off at work. None of this being on someone else's schedule!!

The Little Goblin was happy to see me and he had a shoulder ride home which he loves (no stopping at the park tonight though...it was already dark!). He had a later dinner and I had him in hysterics playing with some tangerine segments, his favourite dessert at the moment!

After he went to bed, Gina, Esme, Faye, Lewis and I had a great dinner and catch-up. It was amazing to have such a relaxed evening (and Gina had cooked up a real thai feast of lamb red curry and chicken with holy basil... everyone's favourite!). We were also happy to have all of us together as we'd been meaning to ask Faye, Lewis and Esme whether they'd like to be "Godparents" to Miles. I use speech marks as we're not religious and Miles won't be Christened (he can find his own way to the Church - or other faith - later in life if he so chooses). Gina and I have been thinking about this for a long time now, and we like the idea of having other people playing a role in Miles' life and sharing experiences and thoughts with him that we don't have as parents. I think that his life will be enriched by having these people that already care for him so much around him, it seems like a logical thing to do.

We just need to work out what we're going to call them. "Guide parents" has been mentioned, but Faye suggested "Goblin parents" which I like (although I'm not sure that it's quite right!). We'll work it out.

We'll have a little ceremony to mark the occasion a little later on, just to make sure that we mark it properly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.