1927 was a great year

Over in the west today seeing my Aunt Nancy on her 86th birthday after which I visited my parents.

While over there, I had a look through some old family photos and decided to blip my Great Aunt Ethel and Great Uncle Stanley, photographed in St. Anne's on Sea in 1927. I think is is a super photo, and I remember my Great Aunt and Uncle with much fondness, while growing up as a kid and in my teens.

Here are a few things that happened during 1927:

The first transatlantic telephone call is made via radio from New York City to London.

Great Britain sends troops to China to protect foreign nationals from spreading anti-foreign riots in Central China.

The silent romantic comedy film It starring Clara Bow, is released, popularising the concept of the "It girl".

Fritz Lang's culturally influential film Metropolis premieres in Germany.

The U.S. Bureau of Prohibition is founded (under the Department of the Treasury).

Bell Telephone Co. transmits an image of Herbert Hoover (then the Secretary of Commerce), which becomes the first successful long distance demonstration of television.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the "Academy" in "Academy Awards", is founded.

Charles Lindbergh makes the first solo, nonstop transatlantic airplane flight, carried out from New York City to Paris, France, in his single-engined aircraft, the Spirit of St. Louis.

The Jazz Singer opens in the United States and it becomes a huge success, although silent films continue to be made for some time.

1927 was some year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.