David Nichols

By davidnichols

DA-40

Part one of getting checked out in a new G1000-equipped Diamond DA-40.

Really a dream machine, super easy to fly, what a great aircraft.

This time got to play with the autopilot a lot more, and did a little more flying than with the G1000 Cessna 172 I flew the other day.

Earlier in the day I had gotten an introductory IFR flight from a family friend who just got his CFI and CFII (Ted Cafferel, who also has his ATP with over 1700 hours, and a great guy might I add); he gave me a quick overview of IFR flying and reading approach plates, and then we shot 2 IFR approaches at KBPT before we ran out of time, by then I decided to cut into my 2 hour DA40 time to get a bite to eat. By the time I got back and ran out to the plane and did my first preflight on the aircraft (exterior fast, G1000 interior much slower) and got in the air, I had eaten up an hour of my 2 hour window. So after flying around a bit and doing some steep turns and power-off stalls and such, we ran out of time to do some touch and goes, so I'm currently scheduled to finish checking out in the aircraft on Thursday.

It's a fantastic plane and really flies well; it reminds me very much of the Zephyr 2000 ultralight (light sport); similar body (shape, T-tail, ailerons and flaps, etc), similar controls (stick), similar front seats, but a much more powerful engine and of course incredible avionics. My friend Al Waning would love it I'm sure :-)

If I recall correctly we were cruising at around 130 knots IAS at 24" of manifold.

Looking forward to my next flight and soloing in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.