Deja Vu

Last year on this day, I was called in to the clinic to see a dog of this exact same breed (see last year's thumbnail below). This year, another American Bulldog needed my care ASAP. I walked in to the exam room, saying, "Hi, I am Dr. Fryer" while holding out my hand to shake the owners hand when the 100 pound dog lunged out of her owner's grasp and sank her teeth in to the arm of my sweater. Thanks to some quick action by the owner pulling her back and me stepping back, I managed to come out of it with a shredded sweater, but not even a bruise. While I rarely ever have to do this, I had to sedate this dog even to examine her. Quite a different experience from the friendly bulldog who ate the tube sock last year. Here she is waking up from her sedation. I did not dare photograph her awake without the bars as protection. I told the doctor who referred this dog to me that he owed me a new sweater. I think he thought I was joking....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.