Sydney

By Sydney

Marlene's baby

This is Marlene.
I don't know her, in fact I just met her this day when I was taking a photo of her marvelous car which I have caught glimpses of periodically for years and have always wondered about. (Well, you would, wouldn't you:) I had gone to pick up the boy that I tutor and drove by this car, this astonishing car and hoped it would still be there when I returned. And it was! I pulled to a stop and began taking photos when the woman who owns the house Marlene was parked in front of returned from the grocery and asked if I would like to meet Marlene. I turned shy but the woman insisted and out came the weather front of cheer that is Marlene. She is a home care giver for the elderly and was delighted to talk about the good ship flamingo and gave me a tour, detailing the effect she hopes she has achieved and expounding upon her future plans to further embellish her masterpiece. This is certainly in the running, if not the winner, of an achievement award of car ornamentation self-actualization (aided by Marlene) of the Principle of Plenitude, don't you think?

Shall I detail the details? Oh, good, I was hoping you'd ask, now where to begin? Let's begin with the hubcap which is decorated with teal and fuchsia diamonds, the fuchsia being repeated just under the headlights, next to the conch shell and again on the front of the hood/bonnet where you might push it closed with the heal of your hand either left or right of whatever that thing is in the middle. That particular object really baffled and slightly repelled me, I must admit, as it seemed a duck covered in brown transparent glass beads, looking far too reminiscent of animal vomit. Not that I am an expert on animal vomit but it was leaving me queasy so I moved on as there was plenty else to explore as you can see :) Back to the tire area, there is pink Hello Kitty duct tape outlining the wheel well, a black band of rubber above that, lime woven plastic tubing covering recycled oxygen tank tubing separating the black rubber from the Barbie duct tape above. Left of this are some scallop shells glued onto shards of broken mirror just underneath sheets of fuchsia diamonds providing a pinstripe under the row of flat-backed, glass not-sure-whats, both continuing around the car meeting again at the front on the other side. A line of dark blue tubing (see lime above) then hot pink duct tape with sand dollars (84 in all) glued at intervals to compliment the beach side feel. Above this are more blue, green and clear flat-backed not-sure-whats surrounding a mirror shard pond replete with glass fish. Each of the flamingos on the hood and the sides have been slowly and carefully cut in half using a Dremel tool. The bottom of the door panels sport more glass not-sure-whats, flamingos, fish and mother of pearl discs just seen above her knees. Inside there is plastic grass on the dashboard providing a pastoral romping ground for tiny flamingos and palm trees. There are also pink zebra floor mats but that goes without saying, of course. The roof liner is sticky shelf paper in a tropical scene and the seat covers are lime plush with daisy dotting. The roof flamingos have pipe cleaner sunglasses, not all that necessary in this locale but they wear them well and look rather natty. The blue flamingo on the left represents the "12th man" as our local football team won the Superbowl recently and the excitement has only abated a bit. The streamers from the 12th man are not faring well, as you can see, and she will be replacing them soon.
I never did find out anything about Marlene, other than her occupation and future car plans. Somehow I didn't have the energy to form cogent thoughts after my auto tour but as she disappeared back inside the house she made me promise to wave when I see her on the road (no honking, it frightens her). I promised and I will wave. I would never honk, it's rude :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.