Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Introducing Chris

This is Chris. He has taken it upon himself to help me, for which I am eternally grateful. He acts as my translator, but is also a whizz on the computer and can quickly find the information that I need. He takes my documents and adds Chinese text for me and at the end of the day, he makes sure I get back to my hotel safely on the bus.

Make no mistake, this is not his job. He is an amazing engineer in his own right and has taught me a few things on the computer design program. Despite his obvious struggling with the English language, his intelligence allows him to read between my words and interpret what I am saying.

Without a Chris, this job would be impossible.

I am really starting to see holes in the team that I am working with. Not the superstars that I first thought, or was I just hoping. I am finding a very negative attitude, not towards me, but about the job. They think the job is not possible. True, what the client wants is undeliverable, as information is not available. We have to keep searching and at least present what we can. There is no point wandering around, whinging about how difficult everything is.

This weekend, I have to go to Hong Kong (HK), on my first VISA run. I have to stay the night in HK, so I will take my camera with me.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.