The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bees

For some long time I have been considering the possibilities of keeping bees, so when I heard of someone looking for somewhere in Calne to keep one or more of their hives, I got in touch. The lady, Peggy, invited me round to discuss possibilities and show me some of her bees. She had just moved in a couple of weeks earlier, and only had a couple of hives installed in her back garden. I liked the idea of having some bees but having someone else looking after them.

She was in a state of some excitement as the bees in one hive were getting ready to swarm and she was busy trying to tempt them into a second hive. We chatted over a coffee and I learned some more about beekeeping but it later turned out that my small patch of garden was not very suitable, partly because my neighbour's barbecues would upset the bees.

L.
10.5.2014 (0950 hr)

Blip #1249
Consecutive Blip #111
Day #1488

Lens: Pentax 17-70mm

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Dana Valery - You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies (1967)
Paul Simon wrote this piece of Northern Soul, and a version by Simon and Garfunkel was on the B-side of Fakin' It (the only B-side of theirs not from an album). This isn't a cover version, though, as Paul Simon adds guitar and some vocal interjections to Dana Valery's single. It came out the same year but it isn't known which version was recorded first. Dana Valery is Italian but raised in South Africa before moving to America as a teenager and had quite a successful career there.

One year ago: The Old Forge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.