Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Back to Black

Having started the day walking along Black Prince Road, Lambeth, I travelled back and found I had 20 minutes between trains at Leeds.

I had to do a double take when I saw the Black Prince as he looked distinctly gold tonight. I'm not sure if it was the light or my eyes adapting to the Yorkshire air.

Or perhaps he's had a makeover for Le Tour as erm........the relief panels, depict land and sea battles, evoking his heroism against France?

The Black Prince is by sculptor Thomas Brock (1847-1922). It was his most significant provincial commission, praised as being careful in its detailing and powerful in its impact.

Brock took seven years to complete the work which had to be cast in Belgium, being too large for a foundry in Britain. On completion the bronze was conveyed by barge from
Hull along the River Aire to Leeds.

The Black Prince was unveiled in front of thousands of spectators at noon, September 16 1903.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.