out of the shadows

By MrsHart3

Into each life.....

Today I have been reading a book about depression
It is called "How the light gets in"
The title is a lyric from a Leonard Cohen song
"There is a crack, a crack in everything,
That's how the light gets in"

I found this idea strangely comforting
That nothing is perfect and it's the imperfections that let the light shine into our lives.

Depression is a strange thing.
Because it lowers your expectations of happiness, it increases your capacity to experience happiness in the smaller things

Some days I'm happy if I get dressed before lunch!
Some days happiness is my grandson spontaneously wrapping his arms round me and saying " I love you Nanna"
Smelling a rose
Seeing the pavements turn silver in a rain storm
Making a really good cup of tea
Realising that there IS a spare toilet roll!
Finding an unexpected tub of ice cream in the freezer

Nothing complicated
Nothing difficult
Nothing expensive

Today, I am happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.