magpie

By magpie

Gnome More Mister Nice Guy

It's funny how your childhood memories of Christmas are magical, exciting, and full of colours and smells. On examining the family Christmas tree this afternoon, I came across this wee man who has apparently been hanging on the tree for about 55 years. When I was young, he was my favourite; I used to think he was very cute and would lie for ages under the tree swinging him on his little pine cone seat. I also remember the rows I got for making the needles drop with all the swinging.

As I'm old and decrepit now, I examined him with a more honest eye today. I realise he is not how I remember him - he is in fact pasty, tatty, quite ugly and with a bit of a squint eye and strange feet.

Still my favourite though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.