Inverculain

By Inverculain

The Old Harbour

I headed East along the coast today, to Sanded, Portsoy, Banff, Macduff, Gardenstown (Gamrie) and Crovie.

I took a LOT of photos (despite the very changeable weather - I got absolutely drenched by the rain while trying to photograph the WW2 beach defences at Sandend!). My favourite was this one of the Old Harbour at Portsoy.

The Old Harbour dates from the 17th Century (there's also an outer "New" Harbour, built in 1825). I've always loved the stonework there, and you can see both the natural variation in the stones used, and the bands of colours that have developed over the centuries depending on the extent to which the courses of blocks been covered and exposed by the tide.

In the large version, note the depth gauge (or whatever the correct nautical expression is! :D) toward the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.