my little eye

By clarebeme

"We own the night"

A college friend I haven't seen for 15 years came over today with her daughter who took part in the women's 10k "We own the Night" run in Victoria Park this eve.

It was inspiring to see thousands of women warming up to the strains of "Get Happy" and then setting off around the park. Brilliant to see all that enthusiasm and excitement.

I'd like to be running with them, really I would, except I hurt my knee running last year and I must admit I was a bit dismayed to see that the average age seemed to be about 30 - or perhaps they all just look that young to me.

I'm definitely not a natural runner unlike my friend's daughter who has found running to be a spectacular antidote to the Asbergers she suffers from. She's way better now than she's ever been before - she seems to be literally running away from the condition, amazing.

I wasn't there to see her (or anyone) finish unfortunately as I had to leave but I'm sure all those women left the park as enthused as they were at the start. Bloody well done to all of them.

Update: I just found out that my friend's daughter ran it in 52 minutes. Wowza!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.