just sitting,

By justsitting

Necropolis refreshment

Headed off with the girls this morning to catch the train to Glasgow to meet Gran and Grandpa, with whom they are staying for at least one night. They can decide tomorrow if they want to stay longer.

After the hand over in the cafe of GOMA, I had a wee wonder, Stuff wasn't my cuppa, too abstract.

Wandered through the Strathclyde Uni campus, what an eyesore. I really had to laugh at the archicecture box building.

Had a great wander round a very snowy Necropolis, have been meaning to go for ages. I took some good silhouettes as there was a magic beam of light coming out of the sky. (Maybe something to do with that John Knox statue there.) This shot actually sums up the lasting impression that the Nectopolis has left me with. It is a cemetry built for the rich and worthy of Glasgow in the early 1800's. Other than the tourists through the day, it looks like it is frequented by people from the opposite end of the social spectrum these days.

From there I headed back down to Argyle St. and then back to get the train home. I love wandering in Glasgow, it is the city my family are from, there are some magic buildings, it has a real big city feel that Edinburgh just dosen't have, but today I felt it looked pretty worn out. I must go back on a sunny day and rekindle my love of Glasgow.

Came home and E and I rushed off to catch a 6pm show at the Filmhouse. The choice was NINE - now I love a musical, the cheesier the better, this looked good, it looked magic on the screen, but it was as dull as dishwater and no-one was whip-crackin' away. We were both dissapointed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.