Kendall is here

By kendallishere

All's well that ends well.

The day started rough when I woke with a blinding migraine and nausea. I've started a new medication, the forty-third preventive I've tried. Maybe the forty-third time is the charm.

I had plans to attend a Portland Baroque Orchestra performance at 7:30, and by dusk I felt I could manage it. I got there half an hour early and took a stroll--discovering it was PROM NIGHT, a passage ritual for American teenagers. One of this group spotted me, probably assumed I was one of her friends' grandmothers, and smiled shyly. I processed it to look like a polaroid--not something I usually do, but it seemed appropriate for this scene that gets repeated in every town in the USA this time of year.

The best part of the day was Monica Huggett, director of the PBO. She plays with passion, athleticism, and expression, and she obviously loves every moment of it, which then makes the audience love it. Her solo in the finale (a Telemann piece) was riveting. I was glad I'd made the effort to get there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.