Why I can't grow lilies...

or fritillaries...

The scarlet lily beetle Lilioceris lilii has become widespread in the UK over the past three decades. When we first moved to Peterborough it was a species largely restricted to southern Britain, but it has steadily moved northward and is now frequent locally. I love both lilies and fritillaries, but I don't have the time or inclination to instigate major pest control against these voracious creatures.

I photographed this one by bringing a pot grown fritillary into the kitchen so that I didn't need to bend down. Not only did it have an adult lily beetle, there was also a pupa, not to mention two species of snail and a slug. The leaves are shredded and I doubt if it will flower next year. I think I'll just stick to the many distasteful species that can cope with our pests - particularly those with hairy or smelly leaves such as geraniums, sun-roses and members of the mint family, not to mention grasses and sedges. They never disappoint!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.