boldsans

By rubyjones

Mary Tyler Moore comes to Edinburgh.

Well, not exactly, but from memory, this fab woman looks a bit like the section where MTM twirls around in New York from the opening sequence of her show.

And that's pretty much all I remember from the Mary Tyler Moore show except for one thing. The thing that has stayed with me all my life. The thing which I still seek out when I'm in the US. The thing that makes me feel I am cool and vibrant when eating from them. Yes. The Chinese takeout cartons. Those cute boxes which fold over at the top and is held into position by a wire handle. They were the best things I had ever seen. Ours were so boring and utilitarian. A fucking tin foil box with a piece of cardboard for a lid. In two boring pieces. In the States they ate out of origami! Here we were eating out of shoeboxes. Funny what you remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.