middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Burnt Match

I live in a house that has an oven that needs to be lit by hand. This mean the gas gets turned on, the oven door is pulled down, then you strike a match and stick your arm way down into the belly of the beast towards the now hissing gas until it ignites in a flare of flame. The first time I had to do that I was very much in fear of getting burnt. Because of that fear I rushed it, which meant my match went out every time I speed it towards the back of the oven. This of course just made the whole task even more of a challenge and by the time the gas finally lit it had been going for a while causing it to flare up quickly and loudly. Startled I dropped the match. Now, years later, that match still sits there, right over the flame, a match no longer but a small stick of charcoal that will never burn away.

On the windowsill next to the oven sits a small tray where the rest of the burnt matches rest until the whole tray is taken and they all get thrown away. It caught my eye tonight and as you can see became my blip.

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.