GallowayQuine

By GallowayQuine

Top Of The World… well Aberdeenshire!

Today I went for a quick walk while Katie was at her tap/modern class. I managed just under 2 miles. Her class only lasts 45 minutes.

As Mr G didn't have football today we decided to climb to the summit Mither Tap Bennachie a local attraction in north Aberdeenshire.

I decided we should climb up the Timeline route as it was a shorter way up but a harder one. As we started our climb we chatted to people coming back down. They were saying how it gets harder as you get higher. I could tell by the looks on the kids faces this was going to be a challenge.

We kept going up and up. Through the forest, then on to heather and granite rock. This is where it became tricky as the granite rocks were slippy in places. We stopped for plenty rests and as we climbed closer to the top all I could think of was… How are we going to get back down!!!! We climbed up over granite rocks and carefully we eventually made it to the top. Wow what a view! You could see for miles even though it was a dull, cloudy day we saw our town where we lived.

Going down I must say was easier. We all had achieved something that we have been wanting to do for a long time. I would go up regular when I was younger.

The reason I wanted to do that hard climb was to help in my training for my upcoming Kiltwalk. Four weeks till my walk. Cant wait..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.