Side Swipe

Everyone agog that a spoonbill had rocked up a few days ago, I decided to go down to Slimbridge WWT and see it for myself.

Wading in the reed beds, with elegant side swipes it feeds on insects, water plants and small fish which it catches in it's spatulate beak; spooning and filtering.
I don't know if this is the same one as last year but it is an adult in breeding plumage but on it's own. Breeding plumage is distinctive with a band of yellow on the neck and yellow too on the end of the bill. It needs a mate!

No such problem for the cranes who were mating last week and have a nest in striking distance of the hide. I couldn't see the nest as the reeds are too tall but this shot shows the female popping up taking in the view. Wonderful to see and am keeping my fingers crossed that babies will arrive as last year it was a massive disappointment. They were too immature but maybe this year........ I will be camping in the grounds there then:))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.