WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

More sunshine than showers

How lucky were we? L and I headed to the coast this morning for a short break. We decided against the mountains as the forecast looked pretty grim and we weren't going to be going up high so we figured damp valleys would not be as fun as the wild coast.

Filey was our destination. I've had many a day trip to Filey as a youngster and a few in adulthood. The things I recall about Filey are wildness, cold, sweaty cagoules, fiesty seas and the daring decent down to Filey Brigg. Oh and losing my sister's shoe in the swallowing sand as we dodged the tide coming in (who knows why I had my sister's shoes on!) I have very fond memories but they are not of the place we saw today.

Glorious blue skies, calm seas and a gentle breeze.

I think the thing I noticed most today was not needing to stare at my feet... The rain was not beating down on our heads and the wind was not attempting to whip off our hoods.

It was beautiful.

OK, so we did walk on the beach in full waterproof gear in two fork lightening storms and torrential rain but they went by pretty quickly and I really appreciated this Yorkshire seaside town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.