Splash

Yesterday's rain continued overnight and was joined by string winds. We got a lunch invitation from one of our Grand Prix gang, and were driving over there for the appointed time of 2.00 pm when we caught sight of the seafront at Dún Laoghaire down a side street. It wasn't just a case of a few white horses, more a stampede, so we just had to take a detour to get a closer look. The blip isn't great, I know, and it doesn't do justice to the stormy conditions, but there's no way I was actually getting out of the car, blip or no blip, so this was taken through the windscreen.

(It's also taken with Carl's camera, because in my anxiety to leave home yesterday I forgot to put my own camera in its holster on my belt -- how silly can you get?!)

Lunch was amazing, a gorgeous Thai feast with several fabulous dishes. We were honoured, really, having been invited to join in what was actually a family Christmas occasion, complete with present exchange. A great time was had by all, and it was quite late by the time we left. As if we hadn't been already fed well enough, we decided to stop off in Dún Laoghaire to pick up some Chinese from the Golden Elephant. I don't remember what my meal was supposed to be, but I do remember that it was inedible. Rather than merely leave it uneaten, which would be the usual thing I'd do under these circumstances, I decided to take it back. The place was closed when we got there, but I banged and banged on the door until it was opened, plonked the meal on the counter and demanded my money back. They had to phone the owner before they'd agree to a refund, but I did get my money back. Lesson: don't eat in the Golden Elephant ever again.

p.s. I've back-blipped yesterday (another weathery one).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.