If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Don's visit.

Today I had a visit from an old mate -Don. We have known each other for about sixty three years, since he moved to the infant school I attended. We have been firm friends since that first day. As he lived near me we saw a lot of each other in fact I probably saw more of Don than I did my own brother at times.

We passed through junior school together but when it came to secondary I went to Grammar School and Don went to Technical. I went on to be a teacher and Don an electrician. Soon after I qualified he joined the merchant navy. When I was getting married he was able to be at the wedding because 5 days later he was to fly out to Canada to get married and begin work in a ship yard. He has been there moving up through various electrical/naval posts until retirement. As he has still got family in Cumbria he makes periodic visits home.

As you can imagine today has been a bit special not to mention busy. Talking with Don left me thinking of my years at home and when he had gone I realised I hadn't a shot for today. So what is the capture for today? It is a detail of carving on a draw from the sideboard made by my Granddad, one of the things I chose not to part with when we had to break up Mum's house when Dad died and she came to live with us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.