TheOpenWall

By TheOpenWall

Mothers Day

As mothers day was approaching I found myself going through some of my moms old recipes. So much love put into food and care, so many fond memories of her and my childhood as I relived many of the recipes she had over the years. However, I also noted that the recipes from way back came direct from calorie heaven, whereas the later ones were adjusted to be a little more lean.

Never the less, lovely to see them, especially swiss-roll with apricot jam. For some insane reason England and America do not seem to have discovered the joys of apricot jam in baking :) Oh, and toffee apples, Cape Malay Koesusters, round doughnuts with an apricot jam center, fridge cake.... As you can appreciate, the list is long.

I settled on chilli con carne, and I must say, I hardly remembered it aside from the name. So I started to make it, assuming that, as I had everything in the house to satisfy my bolognaise mad daughter, I would be OK.

I was reading the recipe as I went when the penny drops, this is what they call Chili in the USA and we've been eating all the time at the local soup and salad bar.

All hail to moms and great comfort food that never goes away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.