A Mono Streetscape

Definitely a mono Monday here in Timaru – cool, cloudy – like not much happening on the weather front. Doug had the dentist this morning; I took the opportunity to take a picture while he was buzzed in the dentist chair.

This is Timaru’s Royal Arcade – it been there forever, a walking street only between two roads. Maybe 10 years ago (memory fades) it had a well needed smarten up and was roofed. Unfortunately, whilst it looked great it didn't really encourage retailers. As you can see (or not see) there aren't multitudes of shoppers using it, but used more of a way to get from the A to B, B being the main street of Timaru. In the evening it comes alive a little more when a popular boutique bar opens for business. Don’t get me wrong, there are shops along here, but seems to be more business than retail these days. I purposely included the marketing flags.

Our visitors have arrived to stay overnight on their journey home to Wellington.

I will respond to your comments for my birthday as soon as I can. It will take some time. This image has been my best received ever with 69 hearts being given (49 being the previous highest), over 600 stars and almost 200 wonderful comments.

I changed the Picture Style to mono in camera to take this, used a little HDR editing to crank it up a bit.

Thanks paladian for hosting this Mono Monday :)

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.