MONOMONDAY CHALLENGE: Streetscape The Bromley Arms

This streetscape was taken in 1981 and it shows what used to be the Bromley Arms pub in Bow in East London. I say used to be as it shut about 15 years ago and is now converted into four flats. The reason I am showing this scene is because this is next door to the house I was born and grew up in until the age of 18. Our house is the first on the right, next to the pub. It looks quite a large town house, but when I was a child it housed my Mum, me and my two brothers, my Granddad, my uncle and aunt and their son. It was quite a squeeze. We had no hot running water at the time, no bathroom and the toilet was at the bottom of the garden. The pub was obviously expecting a beer delivery on this day as there is a crate and plank of wood outside preventing cars from parking by the cellar doors. Oh, and our house has now been converted into two luxury flats!

Thanks to Paladian for hosting the challenge once again this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.