WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Birds

I've always liked birds. I can remember three occasions that go back to infant and first school that make me know this.

Firstly, infant school... I used to have a UK bird bingo game. On it were common birds like a robin, blackbird and blue tit. But I particularly remember the moorhen with its noticeably backward bending yellow legs. I remember choosing to draw a picture in school of a woman with backward bending legs because it amused me. I think Mrs Hampson thought I was a little nutty and naive!

Secondly, in Mrs Sully's Year 3 class in first school. We were writing reports about a topic of our choice and I chose birds. I remember using the Collins Pocket Book of British Birds, amongst others. I loved copying pictures and enjoyed drawing the kittiwake with its pretty and delicate head but was fascinated by the striking beauty of the lapwing and its alternative name the peewit. Colouring most of it in pencil crayon, I chose a fine black felt tip for its crest. I clearly recall my drawing going on the wall and Mrs Sully writing 'lovely head' in red pen. I was so pleased. Just shows the impact of praise at school.

In the final year of primary school with Mr Crossman, we visited Northumberland on a school trip. We had to investigate a huge number of topics but did have some choice. Of course, birds was one I picked out. One of the day trips was to the Farne Islands where the terns attacked us most ferociously.

I'm not a twitcher but birds are definitely on my list of things I love. The lapwings, like the stonechat, are swooping around on the moors at the moment, diverting you from their nesting sites. I love the way their wings flap and flop in the air as they fly. They have an ungainly but warming airborne lollop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.