Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Sunset Colours

The blip is looking towards Wideford Hill and the radio/mobile masks. I'm standing beside the A965 and the Bay of Firth at Ingashowe.

Today was very much the case of still finding my feet on the Mainland as the main island within the Orkney Archipelago is called. There are 70 islands, of which 20 are occupied by human habitation. The rest are solely for the many birds and Common and Grey Seals to enjoy.

Kirkwall is the main town, city on the isle, but as you get away from here and drive out to more remotely populated areas the traffic is a lot less. One of the things that is lovely, is that every time a car passes you, everyone waves a hello. Even as you walk down the street, people greet you. I'm guessing that because this is a small island community, everyone knows your business very quickly. Especially among the B&B community, everyone knows everyone. By all account a rumour can spread from Kirkwall to Stromness in half-an-hour!

I have a feeling that there are many a sunset I could post on here, but I will try to resist...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.