WhatTheJules

By WhatTheJules

Me, and My Mini

The date is a lie! Mother's Day!!! So happy to see my daughter that it must have been a crime to feel so good. Once the anxiety of the trip wore off, I was giddy: she asked if my fentynal patch had kicked in. We were at a grocery store and got into a sword fight with foam swimming noodles. I am going save it to facebook.com/whatthejules.
All the feelings, so baffling. I have been a mom for 22 years including the time I nurtured that child in my womb. That is exactly half of my life. I knew I was pregnant about 10 days into my pregnancy. I took the test and called my mother first. The doctors and I argued through my whole pregnancy about the conception date and thus I was at home in active but unproductive labor for two weeks maybe three. All attempts to dilate me failed and 32 hours if induced labor later I had a c-section.
I talked to that baby all day first day of knowing she was there, and every day. I read to her: Shakespeare and the Greek tragedies and comedies. Her favorite seemed to be 'The Clouds' by Aristophanes. It is one of my favorites as well.
I remember the first time I saw the exact COMPLETE outline of her foot from inside my belly. It was a hot day and I was in a cool bath. She was a big mover and a big girl (born at 11 lbs 1 oz) and she gave a mighty stretch and stayed stretched long enough for me to trace her whole foot with my finger and then tickle the bottom of it. I knew that at least one foot had all five toes.
So many stories. She would keep me awake nights while she was safe inside of me. So, I would lay on my side and roll over to the other side as fast as I could to make her a little dizzy. In the time it took her to get her balance I'd fall asleep so hard that her dancing and jumping didn't bother me.
Oh Kelsey Grace, as I told you yesterday. My sun, my stars, my terra firma, my raison d'être.
You are almost 22 and too far away at 45 minutes and at the age of so many new discoveries.
My only advice to any young person of 22: you have so much to see around you, as you take it in, don't forget to examine inside to see how it all fits in the puzzle that is you.
I love you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.