my little eye

By clarebeme

Urban roses

Recently I've come round to liking roses after years of not enjoying their blousy looks. And I've come to really appreciate them in our urban landscape as a counterfoil to the stark buildings they often grow beside.

To me their English cottage garden prettiness is further accentuated in this environment. I certainly notice them more here and they call out and make their presence known.

I used to think they were at odds with their surroundings but now I like the juxtaposition. Actually I'm beginning to appreciate these blocks of 60s and 70s flats too - the under-designed ones I mean; the brutalist designs of Denys Lasdun and the like are easy to appreciate.

Mind you I draw the line at fake leaded windows on the flats behind - you can just see one here. D'you think there are beams and horse brasses inside?

Definitely a step too far for me, but maybe that's just a matter of time too. My tastes evolve all time and my world's a much more interesting place for it so maybe I'll be lining up the horse brasses in a few years. Hope not...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.