Haikography

By JanBee

One Hundred Acre Wood

Climbing Jib Jacks Hill,
To find mythical childhood,
On top of the world.


...... alternative title "Where the Woozle Wasn't" ... although I have used this before here!

On the way back from a physio session, I decided to drive back over the Ashdown Forest, through Hartfield (home of Winnie the Pooh memorabilia), Up Jib Jacks Hill (no idea where this name came from) and along by Five Hundred Acre wood (yes it does exist). Fans of the bear of very little brain will recognise the iconic trees from EH Sheppard's wonderful illustrations. How lucky I am to live close to the scene of my favourite childhood book.

The road climbs and climbs until you really feel you are on top of the world, with views across the forest to the South Downs beyond. I stopped a few times to take pictures, but this was my favourite - I like the way the clouds echoed the shape of the trees.

Amazed that my Angel from yesterday made it onto spotlight ... thanks so much for all your support and comments, especially as I am so rubbish at commenting back .... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.