The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Redshank

A redhank in rippled water reflecting the bluish clouds as the sun set out of sight this evening. This was at Blackstone Point on the Kent estuary where Gus and I went for a longer walk than usual. Don't look too closely, or the limitations of the photograph may become obvious, I needed a bigger lens on a tripod. But it does convey an impression of the moment, as I tried to place the redshank in the column of brighter light across the water. There was no-one about, just Gus and I and the flights of shelduck circling around us with their unlikely tittering calls.

I'm a bit tired this evening, Gus has taken to waking up with the dawn, and unusually for him, woofing to call me for his morning walk. His 5 o'clock canine alarm clock is set a little too early for my liking.

A year ago, another wader, in a habitat that could hardly be more different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.