Sprout lover

By robharris35

It never rains but it pours

One of the greatest days. DIY weddings are the best. Your character builds when you triumph through adversity.

I was there in advance for the setup and felt the pressure when my tyre blew on a country lane with no phone reception. I was master of ceremonies, so felt the pressure when there was a power cut and the amp wouldn't work. I was an usher so felt the pressure when the marquee bent and twisted in the wind and then collapsed. I was locking up at the end of the night so felt the pressure when a local oddbod and his dog locked himself in the toilet and the police were called.

All of these incidents were easier to deal with than the militant wedding guest who chastised me during the ceilidh about contravening health and safety rules with the table plan. She was so riled up it was utterly bemusing and I had to be rescued by the bride's sister-in-law.

Fair to say by the end of the day I was wrung out by trying to find the spare tyre on a hire car that didn't have one, trying to be as funny as possible during the speech, holding down a billowing marquee, protecting the village hall from strange local characters and defending the table layout.

But it was one of the most memorable and brilliant days I've ever had!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.