Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Curlews in Flight

This shot was taken while standing beside Loch of Tankerness, Orkney Mainland. I decided to go out for a walk as it was such a glorious evening, sunny, a lazy wind, and clear blue skies and you could see for miles. So, looked at the map and thought I'd walk to Rerwick Head. The trouble was it was twice as far as I thought! So, I did half a walk, which was still 6 miles!

The Curlews are a bird that I have never managed to photograph before, with any kind of success, but this evening I was rewarded by lots of practise and a clear in focus image to share with you all.

The curlews, genus Numenius, are a group of eight species of birds, characterised by long, slender, downcurved bills and mottled brown plumage. Their call is also very recognisable too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.