People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Last One

We went to see the Mississippi State's baseball team's last game of the season. I won't lie, I have no idea what goes on in the field, but I like being there. The fans really get into it, and the stadium is a wonderful structure to look at. The line you see going across the picture is the edge of netting placed behind the batter - in case the ball flies towards the audience.

In the morning, we went to our favorite coffee house called the Strange Brew, and 3 of the players from the opposing team were there with the mother of one of them (they wore their university t-shirts). I welcomed them to town, and struck up a conversation. The mom was telling me that the away games in Starkville and in Baton Rouge (home of the Louisiana State University Tigers) were most pleasant, and the people were warm and friendly. It was not the case, she said, at one of the mid-western states where the town folks were downright rude to her and the players. I was bummed to hear that. It would be nice to set a good example for these young athletes regarding what the proper sportsmanship should be.

My boys made me a chocolate cake, which was super nice of them. Life is good.

Bench Mobb is a song written by a few of the MSU baseball players. They are a really nice bunch of kids; 3 of them live next door to us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.