GordonR

By GordonR

In the Shadow of Ben Bhraggie

Traditional Song Lyrics

Far away in the heilands, there stands a wee hoose
And its stand on the breest o' the brae
Where we played as laddies there long, long ago
And it seems it was just yesterday

I can still see old granny, a smile on her face
Just as sweet as the heather dew
When I kissed her good bye, wi' a tear in her eye,
Said, laddie, may god bless you

Chorus:
Where the heather bells are blooming
Just outside granny's door
Where as laddies there we played
In days of long ago
Neath the shadow of Ben Bhraggie
And Golspie's lordly stane
How I wish that I could see
My granny's heiland hame

In fancy again as I look o'er at Tain
When we played on the low Embro shore
From Dornoch to Skelbo, and roon by The Mound
Was a ramble we'd take o'er and o'er

And oft times we'd play, near the old quarry brae
Where the laddies and lassies meet
And with old granny's smile, to cheer all the while
We'd stroll in our wee bare feet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.