Expecting Rain

That was some downpour was it not? And thunder and lightning too. An excellent prelude then to the good Dad taking the son for a bite and a movie for his birthday. Well, if it was a movie about a great flood. Which it was. Starring Russell Crowe. Having last seen him exercising his tonsils in Les Miserables, I'm glad to report that he didn't actually sing 'the animals went in two by two.' What am I saying? I'd have loved it.
Appalled that one of the son's workmates had never heard of Noah, mind. Truly the end of days.
Always good to do the father sonny bonding thing though. I still remember taking him to see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon which is a 12 certificate when he was 11. Twelve, twelve, twelve, I drummed into him. We reached the box office, all rehearsed.
What age are you, asked the girl.
El-Twelve, he blurted out.
The girl just looked at me and shook her head as if I was the most morally degenerate parent she'd ever seen.
Hey, it was art!
It was, wasn't it? And a teeny bit sex and violence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.