58° North Daily

By 58NorthPhoto

Football, food, banter and beer

Michael and I had a very early start this morning, driving from Lancashire to Edinburgh to drop the dogs off at my brother's flat, then getting the train over to Glasgow in time for the 12:15 kick of at Celtic's last game of the season against Dundee United.

I love a football day out so much and it was an amazing atmosphere before and after the match; the rendition of You'll Never Walk Alone left me in tears (as always!). I'm a Blackburn Rovers fan by birth (Michael is the Celtic fan) so You'll Never Walk Alone reminds me of being at Anfield with my dad when Rovers won the Premier League in 1995 (we also played the Elvis version at his funeral). Football was mostly just a dad and me thing really so I think of him a lot on a football day - he'd have enjoyed today very much. It's also not often Rovers lift a trophy so it was nice to see my second team lift one!.

The early kick off left us plenty of time for food, beer and some us time in some of the Glasgow pubs (and another couple of beers in the Edinburgh pubs once we got back there too!). All in all a fantastic day, filled with many of my favourite things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.