Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Lady Chapel, St Laurence Church, Hawkhurst

A trip down memory lane today as I revisited Hawkhurst in Kent - the home village of my late Mother's family and where I spent every school holiday with my Aunt. The church was hit by a doodlebug in August 1944 which destroyed the interior leaving just the outer walls and tower standing. It was renovated and re-dedicated in June 1957. The original stained glass windows were destroyed, of course, but the local families donated replacements and the whole church looks much as it did before. I don't remember the original, of course, (I am old, but not that old!) but do remember the damage and watched the progress of the rebuilding during my school years. The visit today was with my last remaining Aunt - aged 93.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.