Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Home: little life living.......x

I know that you were a little worried about the outcome of the lucky duckling. so here it is. Its a strong little call duck . See HERE . I have to confess it did linger rather pathetically in the incubator for a while after its hatching. I moved it to the brooder pen, and from here it was stimulated to move and strengthen by its two other chick mates.

Initially they peck and preen it and push it around. You could be mistaken for thinking that they are bullying it. Its possible that initially this does happen. Most vitally it has to keep moving to defend itself and prove to the other chicks that it isn't weak enough to be continually picked on. Sorting out the pecking order comes early and very literally.

The interesting thing is, that again you could intervene. Knowing when to and when not too is really the thing. You have to hold your nerve. I feel like the referee in a boxing match until they settle down. The pushing become nestling together. The pecking really is preening each other. My children have similar pecking order. They disagree and agree much like the wind blows. The good thing is, that they usually sort it out. Intervening is always not the best policy here either.

We are not dissimilar with nature, I realise. My duckling, My children....x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.