Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Odd Collections 11: Memories of travels

Today's Friday collection is a random set of objects which are scattered around my house. They are connected by the fact that I bought them as a reminder of a trip and simply pulling them together for this blip reminded me of some good times.

Some fun facts:

From left to right as you look:

Taxi and three seated oriental figures in forefront: these were both from Thailand. I had a brief trip to Bangkok en route to New Zealand and booked a personal tour. It was a fabulous if exhausting day taking me out to the floating markets, sugar making, the many palaces of the King and other sundry pleasures.

Behind them Amish figures and transport: I visited Amish in Pennsylvania some years ago and found it an interesting if challenging experience. Such was their way of life seemingly immune from the modern world it was difficult to comprehend. Now you may notice a stick of glue on the right of the picture. The Amish man suffered a near fatal crash on my steps but glue has repaired it for the picture at least!

Extreme left a replica baseball bat from my trip to see the New York Yankees, again a few years ago.

At the back three sailor figures bought respectively from trips to Brittany, Berlin and Holland.

As you come forward you can see a spiky figure like a hedgehog which is a souvenir from the Philippines and represents the Durian fruit, the foul smelling but rich tasting fruit which is worth a try, at least once!

In the middle four Buddhas memories of Mainland China and Hong Kong. In front of these an elephant on a brief trip to Mumbai in India.

On the right there is my latest purchase from Dublin, the Guinness glass. In front a little gift from my daughter of a typical narrow boat jug and then the painted rock. You might just discern it is Durdle Door. It says on the back in hand writing made in Lulworth Cove in 1996. When we went back there last year the same rock painter was still there and we took his photo.

So the final two figures on the right are from Sweden. The furthest right is a cheap troll. But the wooden figure is hand carved and was quite expensive and is a lovely piece. I bought this with a hand carved figure of a chef which I gave to my brother as a present.

So there you have it, Friday's night brief insight into some of my more pleasurable past.

Have a good weekend. I am taking it easy to continue my rehabilitation I hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.