Purple Magpie

By PurpleMagpie

All paid up

I started wearing glasses aged around 9. I can remember being thrilled about being able to see but the novelty soon wore off.

The glasses in that era were absolutely massive even for children and sadly most of the photos from my childhood raise a laugh at the sheer size and awfulness of my face furniture.

I started wearing contact lenses from around 14. I wore them pretty much permanently and damaged my eyes. Thankfully this damage has healed but it's taken a long time.

I became more responsible and wore better contact lenses and really only started to wear glasses a bit more after my daughter was born.

With each subsequent child my contact lense wear has lessened but more due to the fact my eyes hate them and reject them after a few hours.

From Christmas I have been in glasses permanently and I don't like it.

Long story is that I am getting my eyes lasered on Thursday. It is vanity but glasses do my head in. I actually knocked them off my face on Tuesday night. How daft!

I have paid for it and now I am excited but also absolutely terrified. Xxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.