Simply a Tulip

I was a little distracted today as apart from being busy at work, I also took delivery of a new car.

As a company car driver, I'm given the opportunity to pick a car every 3 years so you'd think I'd be a bit blasé about it, but even if I stay with the same model, the leaps in technology mean each one starts with a journey of discovery, and it will take a week or so before the car starts to fit like a glove again.

The biggest change this time is the disappearance of the handbrake. My most embarrassing moment as a learner was trying to drive up a hill in the busy centre of Aberystwyth. Every time I tried to moved off I stalled the car. After some minutes of this, my wonderfully patient Father took over, and sailed up the hill, with me following on foot. Later he taught me how to do a hill start properly using the clutch and handbrake - something the professional tutor clearly failed to do - and I have never had a problem since that day. Now it seems that after 30 odd years I'm going to have learn a new technique.

Anyway, with all the excitement I never managed to get out for my normal Friday afternoon photo trip after work, so you have to do with a quick shot of a tulip from my garden at dusk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.