Selfie

MrsCyclops is still in hospital, still with baby inside. For a while this morning it looked like she was going to have a C-Section this afternoon, but then the Doctors changed their minds after further blood tests and another scan. So today was both exciting and anti-climactic. Not the first like that either.

I thought I'd record the fact that I'm still (tired but) smiling at the end of the day.

It fascinates me that everything young people do is looked down on by certain elements of society. I really, really hope that I never look down on things just because I don't understand them. I love the photography I take - yet many would consider it crass, superficial snapshots. That's fine. It makes me happy and that's its only purpose.

The democratisation of photography - of which the self portrait has always been a feature - is a wondrous thing to me. It surely can't be news that most of us are to a greater or lesser extent fascinated by ourselves, so the "selfie" is an inevitable consequence of ubiquitous photography. Why decry it? No-one is claiming it is photographic genius to compete with Cartier Bresson - it's just a bit of fun, which contributes to an archive of self.

So this is my "selfie" for the day.

If I get to a point in life when I start being rude about new trends simply because I don't understand them, someone please give me a good hard kick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.