hgpayne

By hgpayne

Signs of Hiking

We did a bigger hike today, and I took around 150 photos, and many show some pretty nice scenery. So why pick this sign? It shows a sense of accomplishment. Sure, this was only 1/2 to 1 mile or so into the hike, but hey, we made it there.

This hike was supposed to go around Little Sugar Loaf, pass between Little Sugar Loaf and Chimney Rock, and go down Thunder Trail. We had only walked a few minutes when we figured out we had gone the wrong direction and instead of walking around Little Sugar Loaf, we were climbing to the top. I kind of thought about doing that anyway, on the backside,where it looked easier -- on the map, anyway. Anyway, we went back down and just took the regular Thunder trail, so we didn't get behind Little Sugar Loaf like I wanted.

Rather than miss out on seeing the backside of Little Sugar Loaf, I decided to launch my drone and fly all the way around it. What a good plan. The only problem was when the drone got around to the back side, I lost signal. Fortunately, under such circumstances, it is supposed to fly back to where it took off from automatically. THANK GOD I was flying higher than the peak of Little Sugar Loaf. Otherwise I would have been climbing it -- to see if I could find my bird and camera. As it is, it made an interesting video. As a bonus, check it out on YouTube at Little Sugar Loaf via DJI Phantom and GoPro 3+ Black

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.