Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Good Morning Children

This is a shot that I have been planning for a while. Due to lift logistics and constant traffic, I had to do the deed at 02:00am, but still, I did not get the lift to myself and had to travel up and down with drunks!

This was always going to be a grainy crop, with a horrendous ISO number and a pitifully slow shutter speed, but DaveRI taught me early on that grain is OK, so Dave, this one is for you.

I had an iconic film in mind, so correct answers will win a two week holiday in China. You will get to sit next to me all day and watch me design cars. We will bug safari the bushes at lunch time and watch CNN in the evenings. You will have to share my comfortable and spacious bed, as I haven’t been paid yet (two weeks to go).

Today was a session with the kids at an English language school. A class of thirty 14yo boys and girls. They gave me a very warm welcome, a big cheer in fact. It was a relaxed session of them asking me questions and then me entertaining and turning the questions back on them, to get them to have a go at speaking.

We covered some very interesting subjects and I am looking forward to going back next week. One lad collected my phone number and has sent me several sms messages, and so the lesson continues. I think I will offer the number for anyone else who wants to have a go.

As for the staff pick – sorry to my followers and the Blip staff if I seemed ungrateful. I know too well that SP is a great honor, to get chosen in the top five out of some 5,000 images is obviously very special.

I put my negative reaction down to the fact that out of the 200 odd shots of this scene that I took, the image that I was looking for was blurred and I was most upset to have to use another. I simply could not get excited about the image, knowing its history. I felt self conscious that everyone could see the ‘second best’ nature of the shot.

Thanks to Kendal for putting me straight – always a guiding light in my blip endeavours :)

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.