Sense of Purpose

By brainfreeze

Music of 2009

Propably not a very interesting blip, but it's either this or fish intestines for today. Just something I'm interested in. These are albums released in 2009 that I bought. Most of these names don't propably say a whole lot to a casual listener, although there are few that casual Finnish listeners are more likely to recognize. About half of them can be categorized as metal, and almost all of them as rock, more or less.

I have ranked them, but the rankings propably would look different tomorrow - especially from spot 5. onwards it's quite close, since none of the albums are bad in my opinion, the "worst" propably gets about 3,5 out of 5 from me. I guess it was a pretty good year music-wise, then. I saw some great gigs, too.

* = Finnish band

Starting from upper row (left to right):

1. Mastodon - Crack the Skye
2. Amorphis - Skyforger *
3. ISIS - Wavering Radiant
4. Viikate - Kuu Kaakon Yllä *
5. PMMP - Veden Varaan *
--------------------------------------------------
6. Insomnium - Across the Dark *
7. Devin Townsend Project - Addicted
8. Therapy? - Crooked Timber
9. Murmansk - Eleven Eyes To Shade *
10. Slayer - World Painted Blood
--------------------------------------------------
11. Porcupine Tree - The Incident
12. Lamb of God - Wrath

Hmmm... one for each month. How fitting.

I just noticed I missed a live album by Nightwish, but since that's not a studio album, I'll leave it like this :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.