johnlorimer

By johnlorimer

just so good

I am lucky to have access to an excellent Asian Supermarket.

The owners are just beautiful people, and the shop is kept spotless. A lot of store owners can learn a lot from these people I would say.

I could easily go there just for the smell alone. You know the smell, the aroma of spices mixed with a lovely freshness that just makes you salivate.

Prices are cheap. They buy spices and herbs in bulk, repackaging into quite generous packages. They usually range from two to three dollars and is always excellent quality.

I only needed a couple of things. Some shrimp paste, fried shallots and the imported coconut milk that tastes so much more amazing than the supermarket stuff.

The real reason however is pictured here. A steamed sticky rice cake with banana that they make that morning and sell for two dollars. They are probably not licenced for selling food cooked on site, but I certainly do not care.

I love these tasty little morsels. I bought one and drove a short distance to a park next to the river to eat it. My daughter was at art class, so I had a half hour to kill.

I really wish you could try one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.